top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCat Snodgrass

Travelling to Evansville

If you had asked me 6 months ago, where do you see you see your self at the end of college, I would not have even given a second thought about making my way to the US to study for the year!


I've never been to the United States before so the whole experience less very new, to which, in addition, I was a doing alone! My dad, sister and boyfriend came with me to Heathrow Airport, we left at 4o’clock in the morning, for my flight at 10:10. I was very nervous!! But the worst thought was my family leaving, and the anticipation for that because I knew they were going and I wouldn’t see them for a while after they go! The goodbyes were quick and emotional as I was in the que to security and the line moved fast. Once they left, I had to try and compose myself, and after that, it wasn’t so bad! I didn't have to wait long before being able to board my flight, so had a wonder round the shops at duty free, then made my way to my gate.


Waiting to board the plane was interesting. There was such a range of people that were waiting to get on the same plane, families, couples, friends. Again, the wait wasn't long before we were on the plane, they let first class passengers on first, then premium, then lastly, economy. I was in economy seating but we had to walk through the first class and premium seats to get to economy which was interesting! They had lots of leg room! The width of the plane was incredible! There was three seats on one side, four in the middle, then another three the other side. I was fortunate in that I was sat at the emergency exits, so there was an isle in front, therefore lots of leg room! However, I couldn't see out of any windows which was a bit of a shame. The journey was very long (9 hours and 30 minutes to be exact) but with frequent refreshments being brought round, and televisions with a huge range of films and TV series to watch, it wasn't so bad.


Once I arrived in Atlanta airport, I had around an hour and a half to go through immigration, grab my hold luggage to then put onto the next flight, get my boarding pass for Evansville, go through security and finally find the right place to board the flight! I thought it would be tight, but the efficiency of the staff in Atlanta was incredible and I made it to the flight to Evansville with around half an hour to spare.


However, it didn't end there! I arrived at the gate to board my plane to Evansville, when the ladies at the gate called my name to tell me I didn't have a seat on the plane. They offered me a $500 gift card to buy a ticket for the next flight, which would have been in another 6 hours, or to wait and see if someone would volunteer their ticket. I said that I would wait, after such a long plane journey I really wanted to just get to Evansville and to wait another 6 hours would have been exhausting! Just before they had people board the flight, the kindest man came up and took the offer for the gift card and said that he would take the next flight so I could have his ticket. He was a lovely man and I was incredibly grateful to him for being so kind!


The plane to Evansville was very small but didn't take too long (1 hour and a half) and once I arrived in the airport I was greeted by two International Orientation Leaders from the University, and they helped me take my luggage to the car where two other international students who had arrived not long before, were also being taken to the university. In the car there was a girl from South Korea, and a boy from Brazil, we were all very tired and ready to get some sleep!

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page